Gabala - Garabagh 2-2
Match report / 14 March 2012 | 15:14129
Gabala - Garabagh 2-2

Gabala 2 - 2 Garabagh

Date: 14 March 2012 Kick-off: 14:00 GMT Venue: Gabala Boyuk Amirli Stadium. Crowd: 1000
Referee: Fariz Yusifov
Referee assistants: Rza Mammadov, Vagif Musayev
4th referee: Ingilab Mammadov
AFFA representative: Gurbat Hasanov
Referee-inspector: Ahmadagha Jabbarov
Yellow cards: Gara Garayev, 35
Goals: Victor Mendy, 41; Luiz Paulo Hillario, 65 // Rauf Aliyev, 46; Muarem Muarem, 90
Extra time: I Part - 0; II Part - 2 min.

Today, Gabala have played in a 2:2 draw against Garabagh at home for the first Quarter Final match of the Cup Championship. The show was lively just like it was expected as the both sides are close to the triumph.

The pace of the game began with the traditional slot of Garabagh that is full of quick pressings and short spaces. Those early nerves of the visitors could be relieved a bit in the 3rd minute, when Vagif Javadov hit the woodwork.

After the early 20-minute defense period of Gabala, the home side changed the course of the tie with some troubles at the other end, which led to breaking the deadlock on 41 minutes. Victor Mendy latched onto the superb cross from the far post of Aleksandr Certoganov and shoot home over visiting Bojan Pavlovic- 1:0. Now this goal put a break on 9-match clear period of the Garabagh keeper.

Leaving the half with the lead, Gabala conceded the ball at the beginning of the second period, when Bruno da Silva lost the ball close to the 18-yard box before Vagif seized on it to equalize the scoring.

That led to Gabala"s revival for sustained period of inroads into the visiting defense. Silva, trying to capitalize on a corner for amends to his earlier mistake, fired a goalbound shot denied by the keeper. But it was the home side regained their lead with the tackle by Certoganov and Dodo before the latter neted in just after the hour mark. That prompted Fatih Kavlak"s side to keep the possession right until the 90th minute, just when visitor Muarem Muarem finished into the draw- 2:2. The consecutive Quarter Final match is expected to be on 28 March.


12. Pavels Dorosevs
4. Mahir Shukurov (c)
6. Lubo Baranin
8. Bruno da Silva
9. Victor Mendy
10. Deon Burton
11. Yannick Kamanan
(19. Rovshan Amirjanov, min.90)
18. Aleksandr Certoganov
20. Steve Olfers
34. Urfan Abbasov
77. Luiz Paulo Hillario


30. Grem Smith
15. Nodar Mammadov
21. Elmar Bakhshiyev
22. Murad Huseynov
24. Tarzin Jahangirov
33. Sasha Yunisoghlu

Coach: Fatih Kavlak


99. Bojan Pavlovic
2. Gara Garayev
5. Maksim Medvedev
6. Rashad Sadigov (c)
(19. Muarem Muarem, min.76)
7. Namig Yusifov
11. Rauf Aliyev
14. Rashad Sadigov
22. Afran Ismayilov
(17. Vugar Nadirov, min.67)
24. Admir Teli
25. Ansi Agolli
70. Vagif Javadov
(77. Giorgi Adamia, min.90)

1. Farhad Valiyev
4. Zaur Hashimov
9. Bakhtiyar Soltanov
18. Ilgar Gurbanov

Coach: Gurban Gurbanov